He Loves You More

The day you were born I had a song stuck in my head.  For days, all I could do was sing the chorus of this song over and over.  Every time I looked at you tears would fill my eyes, and the words of this song played over and over in my head.  Every morning I woke up to the same words.  In fact, I remember one day specifically when I went to get lunch for your mom and myself.  As I drove with the windows down, I sang this song over and over.  The words to the chorus go like this- “I love you more than the sun and the stars that I taught how to shine. You are mine, and you shine for me too.  I love you yesterday and today and tomorrow.  I’ll say it again and again.  I love you more.”  I tend to be pretty reserved, but this song seemed to really capture what I was feeling.  I was honestly shocked by the overwhelming emotion of love that I had for you.  All I knew was that I loved you so much yesterday, today, and tomorrow.  A simple song seemed to express what I was feeling toward you better than anything else.

The song is called “More” by Matthew West, and it is actually a song about God’s love.  Obviously, your dad didn’t teach the sun and the stars how to shine.  Even so, when you were born was one of the only times in my life when I felt like I could really connect with the way God loves us.  His love is His passionate commitment to our good.  You need to understand that there is no limit to God’s love.  He is infinitely set on caring for us and doing what is best for us.  He created us for good and to experience His love.  There has never been a day when He didn’t have the same desire for us.  I have believed this for a long time.  I do believe it, but when you were born I felt it.  I tend to minimize emotions in life, but now I believe that God’s love is not just a commitment to what is best for us.  God’s love is also emotional.  God feels love toward us.  It is not some cold commitment He is obligated to.  His commitment and emotion go hand in hand perfectly.  He loves you with a love that is so much bigger than anything I am capable of ever expressing to you.  His love is the ultimate love.  His love will never fail you, and His love will always be there to hold you.  He truly loves you and all people more than anything else in the universe He created.  It is not just a fact, but it is who He is.  He feels that love toward you that I felt but multiplied by infinity.  He feels it every day, and there is nothing that can stop it or lessen it.  It is always there.  It will never leave you even in times when you doubt it or question it.  You will never reach its limit!

I am going to be honest with you.  My love is really limited.  Maybe in some small and inadequate way it reflects God’s love, but it is a pretty pathetic reflection.  After bringing you home, it didn’t take too many middle of the night interruptions of my sleep to show that I am often far more concerned about myself than you.  I have no doubt that my love will fail you many times as you grow up.  In fact, I know it already has many times.  No wonder they make everyone watch videos on shaken baby syndrome in the hospital!  Ok, that is kind of a joke but seriously.  There will be plenty of moments when I will choose myself over you.  My love will fail you, and it is important for you to know that this is true of all people.  Don’t look to other people to meet the need in your life to know unfailing and unconditional love.  The love we experience together and in relationships with other people is amazing, but it never fully satisfies and is always limited.  You will always find what you are looking for in the eternal and infinite God.  He loves you more than the sun and the stars that He taught how to shine.  You are His, and you shine for Him too.  He loves you yesterday and today and tomorrow.  I’ll say it again and again.  He loves you more!

He loves you so much that He had His Son die for you.  Romans 5:8 says, “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were sinners, Christ died for us.”  1 John 3:16 says, “We know love by this, that He laid down His life for us…”  He completely gave of Himself so that you could have the best.  You will never know a sacrifice of love so great.  He loves you more than you can imagine.  More than you can fathom.  It is not just lip service.  He acted on it.  Run to Him.  You will always find what you are looking for…a love without end.

