The Beginning: Why Blog?

My wife and I recently adopted a beautiful little girl, who we named Amelia Rose.  Watching her every move radiates the glory of God.  Every day gushes forth a powerful declaration of His handiwork and wisdom.  God has once again manifested His abounding grace in our lives through the gift of this precious little girl.  Through it all He has reminded me that He is not only a God who is far but also near.  He knows our heart, our every thought, and He cares…What an overwhelming thought!  He cares even about the things that we think are far too small and insignificant for such an infinite being.  He cares for me, and He cares dearly for my little girl, Amelia Rose.

I am starting this blog for the simple purpose of collecting thoughts about the lessons God teaches me through being her father and the things I hope fill her life someday.  I am reminded that every day is truly a gift and shouldn’t be taken for granted.  Not that I will be able to write every day, but not a moment goes by that isn’t filled with God’s good intention.  He is using this beautiful baby to mold me and shape me into the person He wants me to be.  He is using her to deepen my understanding of who He is and the relationship I have with Him daily.  Maybe someday when Amelia can read this she will see the words I write as a powerful testimony to the reality of God and the fact that He is involved in the lives of His people.  I want her to know that she is loved, and that no one loves her more than the eternal God. 

I have often imagined being a dad who works hard to shape and mold his child, but it seems that it will be this child that God will use to shape and mold me.  This blog is a reminder to me that I don’t want to take these days for granted.  I don’t want to “get through” parenting an infant, toddler, etc.  I don’t want to miss out on how God is relating with me through it all, and I don’t want Amelia Rose to miss out on it either.  Maybe the work of God in my life will teach her more than my fatherly instruction ever will…

Leave a Reply

